Oryx and Crake

Category: Book
By (author): Atwood, Margaret
Subject:  FICTION / Canadian
  FICTION / General
Awards: Governor General's Literary Awards - Fiction (2003) Short-listed
Scotiabank Giller Prize (2003) 07
Man Booker Prize (2003) 07
Orange Prize for Fiction (2004) 07
Publisher: Knopf Random Vintage Canada
Published: July 2009
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 416
Size: 8.00in x 5.20in x 0.90in
Our Price:
$ 22.00
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*Oryx and Crake is at once an unforgettable love story and a compelling vision of the future.

Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the last human, and mourning the loss of his best friend, Crake, and the beautiful and elusive Oryx whom they both loved. In search of answers, Snowman embarks on a journey--with the help of the green-eyed Children of Crake--through the lush wilderness that was so recently a great city, until powerful corporations took mankind on an uncontrolled genetic engineering ride. Margaret Atwood projects us into a near future that is both all too familiar and beyond our imagining.
A Globe and Mail Best Book

"Oryx and Crake is Atwood at her playful, allegorical best." The Globe and Mail

" If one measure of art's power is its ability to force you to face what you would very much rather not, Oryx and Crake--the evocative tale of a nightmarish near-future--is an extraordinary work of art, one that reaffirms Atwood's place at the apex of Canadian literature." Maclean's

"Atwood has long since established herself as one of the best writers in English today, but Oryx and Crake may well be her best work yet.... Brilliant, provocative, sumptuous and downright terrifying." The Baltimore Sun

"Atwood's great talent for narrative has never been displayed to better effect." Toronto Star

"Oryx and Crake is Atwood at her best--dark, dry, scabrously witty, yet moving and studded with flashes of pure poetry. Her gloriously inventive brave new world is all the more chilling because of the mirror it holds up to our own. Citizens, be warned." The Independent

"Wonderfully vivid, and the sardonic unveiling of future history makes for a strong narrative drive." National Post

"Perfectly constructed, funny, and satiric. It is inventive yet prophetic, in fact, apocalyptic and weirdly feasible.… It is brilliant." Winnipeg Free Press

"Contemporary novelists rarely write about science or technology. Margaret Atwood tackles both--and more." The Economist
Biographical Note

Margaret Atwood is the author of more than forty volumes of poetry, children's literature, fiction, and non-fiction, but is best known for her novels, which include The Edible Woman (1969), The Handmaid's Tale (1985), The Robber Bride (1994), Alias Grace (1996), and The Blind Assassin, which won the prestigious Booker Prize in 2000. A book of short stories called Stone Mattress: Nine Tales was published in 2014. Her novel, MaddAddam (2013), is the final volume in a three-book series that began with the Man-Booker prize-nominated Oryx and Crake (2003) and continued with The Year of the Flood (2009). The Tent (mini-fictions) and Moral Disorder (short fiction) both appeared in 2006. A volume of poetry, The Door, was published in 2007. In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination, a collection of non-fiction essays appeared in 2011. Her non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth was adapted for the screen in 2012. Ms. Atwood's work has been published in more than forty languages, including Farsi, Japanese, Turkish, Finnish, Korean, Icelandic and Estonian.
Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson.