Castle Hangnail

Category: Book
By (author): Vernon, Ursula
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 7-10
  JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Publisher: Puffin
Published: March 2016
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 384
Size: 7.75in x 5.06in
Our Price:
$ 12.25
Availability:
Available: 3-5 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*From the creator of Dragonbreath comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger.

When Molly shows up on Castle Hangnail's doorstep to fill the vacancy for a wicked witch, the castle's minions are understandably dubious. After all, she is twelve years old, barely five feet tall, and quite polite. (The minions are used to tall, demanding evil sorceresses with razor-sharp cheekbones.) But the castle desperately needs a master or else the Board of Magic will decommission it, leaving all the minions without the home they love. So when Molly assures them she is quite wicked indeed (So wicked! REALLY wicked!) and begins completing the tasks required by the Board of Magic for approval, everyone feels hopeful. Unfortunately, it turns out that Molly has quite a few secrets, including the biggest one of all: that she isn't who she says she is.

This quirky, richly illustrated novel is filled with humor, magic, and an unforgettable all-star cast of castle characters.
Review Quote*Awards and Honors for Ursula Vernon

Winner of the Hugo Award for her adult online comic Digger


Dragonbreath:
An IRA/CBC Chidren's Choice
"Great stuff for reluctant and rapacious readers alike."-BCCB
Dragonbreath: Attack of the Ninja Frogs: NYPL Children's Books 2010: 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, Kirkus Reviews 2010 Best Books for Children
"Delightful."-School Library Journal
Dragonbreath: Curse of the Were-Weiner: An Autumn 2010 Kids' Indie Next List Pick, Kirkus Reviews 2010 Best Books for Children
* "[An] impossibly droll escapade."-Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Dragonbreath: Lair of the Bat Monster: A Spring 2011 Indie Next List Pick

  - Ursula Vernon
Biographical NoteUrsula Vernon is the full-time author and illustrator of the popular Dragonbreath series. Her work has won a Hugo award and been nominated for an Eisner.