Phone Number
Phone Number

The Guest List: A Novel

Category: Book
By (author): Foley, Lucy
Subject:  FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  FICTION / Thrillers / Crime
  FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: June 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in
Our Price:
$ 23.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

"I loved this book. It gave me the same waves of happiness I get from curling up with a classic Christie...The alternating points of view keep you guessing, and guessing wrong." - Alex Michaelides, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient

A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the New York Times bestselling author of The Hunting Party.The bride – The plus one – The best man – The wedding planner  – The bridesmaid – The body

On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It's a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed.

But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride's oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast.

And then someone turns up dead. Who didn't wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?

Review Quote*I didn't think Lucy Foley could top The Hunting Party, but she did! I loved this book. It gave me the same waves of happiness I get from curling up with a classic Christie. A remote, atmospheric island, a wedding no one is particularly happy to be at, old secrets- and a murder. The alternating points of view keep you guessing, and guessing wrong. I can't wait for her next book.
Review Quote*"Murder on the Orient Express and And Then There Were None rolled into one...Fans of Christie, Louise Penny, and Ruth Rendell will absolutely love this book."
Review Quote*"Lucy Foley gets better with every book...The characters leap off the page, the twists are darker and more unexpected, and the setting is straight out of a Gothic novel...Yes, there's a murder, but there's so much more than that. (The twists, I admit, are pretty good too.)"
Review Quote*"An updated Murder on the Orient Express."