When You Look Like Us

Category: Book
By (author): Harris, Pamela N.
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Runaways
Audience: young adult
Awards: Bank Street Children’s Best Books of the Year
Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee (Mystery Writers of America)
Odyssey Honor Audiobook
Golden Kite Award
NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work
International Reading Association Notable Book for a Global Society
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: February 2022
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 8.00in x 5.31in x 1.00in
Our Price:
$ 13.50
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

"A high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. A must for YA collections." (School Library Journal)

A 2022 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work nominee and a 2022 Edgar Award nominee, this timely, gripping teen novel is about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where Black girls' disappearances are too often overlooked, from debut author Pamela Harris. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us-brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades-everyone else thinks you're trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing Black girl from public housing because she must've brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend-a drug dealer-and his friends. But she's been gone too long. Nic, where are you?

If I hadn't hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma.

If I was a better brother, she'd be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list.

It's time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won't.

Bring her home.

Also a 2022 ILA Notable Book for a Global Society Award winner!

Review Quote*"A high-speed story that will draw teens in and keep them turning pages until they reach the unpredictable and thrilling ending. A must for YA collections."
Review Quote*"A powerful story about misperceptions, reality, and the lives lived in between."
Review Quote*"[A] poignant debut novel. Harris creates a vividly drawn world, a rich cast of characters, and an authentic neighborhood."
Review Quote*"The book wisely distinguishes preconceptions from prejudice, making clear that the aggressions, microaggressions, and general oppression by white society is a whole lot different than a teenaged kid making a judgment call on his sister's boyfriend…There's emotional catharsis in Jay's finally accepting that he does not have to be perfect to be human."
Review Quote*"Harris unapologetically gives voice to the grief that a community can feel when the law fails them, as well as their need to, instead, rely on the hope, love, and power they bring to one another. The strength and endurance of the Black family reverberate throughout this achingly honest debut."