When You Look Like Us

Category: Book
By (author): Harris, Pamela N.
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: January 2021
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 368
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in
Our Price:
$ 21.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls' disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.

When you look like us-brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades-everyone else thinks you're trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing black girl from public housing because she must've brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfriend-a drug dealer-and his friends. But she's been gone too long. Nic, where are you?

If I hadn't hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma.

If I was a better brother, she'd be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list.

It's time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department won't.

Bring her home.