When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

Category: Book
By (author): Kaur, Jasmin
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Novels in Verse
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: October 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 7.75in x 5.00in x 0.64in
Our Price:
$ 13.50
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur's stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

screamso that one daya hundred years from nowanother sister will not have todry her tears wonderingwhere in historyshe lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn't always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.

Review Quote*"Kaur's debut collection explores what it means to be a young woman in a world that not only fails to hear her but that often refuses to see her. The novel begins with poems that are more than pretty words; they carry weight and breathe fire. Power is reclaimed through self-acceptance and love."
Review Quote*"Kaur's elegant and informative poetry and prose packs a powerful punch. The gentle words empathize with and encourage readers, uplifting the soul, and praising every woman's spirit."
Review Quote*"Kaur's poetry delivers moments of startling clarity and light, lyrically describing the experience of a population rarely visible in Western literature."
Review Quote*"Kaur draws on her experience of being a Sikh woman in Canada to express feelings of anger, grief, and tentative hopefulness that will resonate deeply with young women who feel unheard and unseen because of their ethnicity, their immigration status, and/or their experience of domestic abuse."
Review Quote*"A searing and gorgeous debut. This book made me feel seen, but it also educated me-it's sure to provoke many necessary and meaningful conversations."
Review Quote*"An emotional journey that will enlighten, inspire and empower readers everywhere."
Review Quote*"Kaur weaves a captivating narrative that reminds us of what it means to be raw, to be powerful, to be beautifully unique-beautifully human. So many people need this book. I'm one of them."
Review Quote*"Jasmin Kaur epitomizes a powerful, assertive, and unapologetic voice, speaking candidly about the deep, dark, and hidden while maintaining a tone of optimism and resilience. As she challenges expectations and brutal truths, Jasmin offers an insightful commentary on the world from her eyes that is bound to resonate."
Review Quote*"Jasmin Kaur's work is divine and essential. She sees you and then hands you the mirror to see yourself. There is a sweet, fierce and true vulnerability in every piece. Cling to this book, it is honest and it will bring you home to yourself."