When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

Category: Book
By (author): Kaur, Jasmin
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Poetry
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: October 2019
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 7.75in x 5.00in x 0.89in
Our Price:
$ 23.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur's stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

screamso that one daya hundred years from nowanother sister will not have todry her tears wonderingwhere in historyshe lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn't always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.

Review Quote*"A searing and gorgeous debut. This book made me feel seen, but it also educated me-it's sure to provoke many necessary and meaningful conversations."
Review Quote*"An emotional journey that will enlighten, inspire and empower readers everywhere."
Review Quote*"Kaur weaves a captivating narrative that reminds us of what it means to be raw, to be powerful, to be beautifully unique-beautifully human. So many people need this book. I'm one of them."
Review Quote*"Jasmin Kaur epitomizes a powerful, assertive, and unapologetic voice, speaking candidly about the deep, dark, and hidden while maintaining a tone of optimism and resilience. As she challenges expectations and brutal truths, Jasmin offers an insightful commentary on the world from her eyes that is bound to resonate."
Review Quote*"Jasmin Kaur's work is divine and essential. She sees you and then hands you the mirror to see yourself. There is a sweet, fierce and true vulnerability in every piece. Cling to this book, it is honest and it will bring you home to yourself."
Review Quote*"A fierce reminder of the irreplaceable and irrepressible nature of our own voices and the power they hold."