From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Category: Book
By (author): Marks, Janae
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14
  JUVENILE FICTION / Cooking & Food
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: January 2020
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 304
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 1.01in
Our Price:
$ 21.00
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

"Enticing and enthralling."-Jewell Parker Rhodes

From debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right-even in the face of great opposition. A perfect book for fans of Front Desk and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook!

Zoe Washington isn't sure what to write. What does a girl say to the father she's never met, hadn't heard from until his letter arrived on her twelfth birthday, and who's been in prison for a terrible crime?

A crime he says he never committed.

Could Marcus really be innocent? Zoe is determined to uncover the truth. Even if it means hiding his letters and her investigation from the rest of her family. Everyone else thinks Zoe's worrying about doing a good job at her bakery internship and proving to her parents that she's worthy of auditioning for Food Network's Kids Bake Challenge.

But with bakery confections on one part of her mind, and Marcus's conviction weighing heavily on the other, this is one recipe Zoe doesn't know how to balance. The only thing she knows to be true: Everyone lies.

Review Quote*"This powerful debut packs both depth and sweetness, tackling a tough topic in a sensitive, compelling way. An extraordinary, timely, must-read debut about love, family, friendship, and justice."
Review Quote*"Marks tackles the complex costs of the pursuit of justice and motivates readers to feel equipped-and energized-to stand up for what's right, right now. Readers will recognize that, like Zoe Washington, they need not wait until they grow up to make their actions count."
Review Quote*"A delightful confection of a novel! Zoe is a wondrous heroine who inspires a deeper love for food, family, and friends. Advocating for social justice, she creates a new recipe for a better, sweeter world. An enticing and enthralling debut from Janae Marks."
Review Quote*"A touching, tender, and absorbing read!"
Review Quote*"With a dash of mystery, sprinkle of passion, and whole lot of heart, From the Desk of Zoe Washington has found a winning recipe."