Sweeping Up the Heart

Category: Book
By (author): Henkes, Kevin
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 7-10
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Alternative Family
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: February 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 192
Size: 7.37in x 5.00in x 0.53in
Our Price:
$ 9.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

From two-time Newbery Honor and New York Times–bestselling author Kevin Henkes, this timeless novel about loss, loneliness, and friendship tells the story of the spring break that changes seventh-grader Amelia Albright's life forever.

Amelia Albright dreams about going to Florida for spring break like everyone else in her class, but her father-a cranky and stubborn English professor-has decided Florida is too much adventure.

Now Amelia is stuck at home with him and her babysitter, the beloved Mrs. O'Brien. The week ahead promises to be boring, until Amelia meets Casey at her neighborhood art studio. Amelia has never been friends with a boy before, and the experience is both fraught and thrilling. When Casey claims to see the spirit of Amelia's mother (who died ten years before), the pair embarks on an altogether different journey in their attempt to find her.

Using crisp, lyrical, literary writing and moments of humor and truth, award-winning author Kevin Henkes deftly captures how it feels to be almost thirteen.

With themes of family, death, grief, creativity, and loyalty, Sweeping Up the Heart is for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rebecca Stead, Lauren Wolk, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Review Quote*"Deeply felt. . .moving and satisfying, and the book ends with a feeling of revelation and rebirth. . .and an utterly perfect final sentence."
Review Quote*"A shimmering novel that touches on human frailty, the consolations of art, and the mysteries of growing up."
Review Quote*"Captured on the threshold of puberty's tumultuous changes, Amelia and Casey quiver with hope and longing. Like a Chinese brush painting made of words, this short novel distills the slow-building impatience of early adolescence down to its essence-not much happens, yet everything does. . . . Spare, luminous, lovely."
Review Quote*"Henkes's profound understanding of the adolescent heart and mind is evident . . . In economic prose, Henkes evokes the complexity of his characters' emotions and relationships, and offers a feel-good resolution."
Review Quote*"In that confusing space between childhood and adulthood, Amelia finds comfort in talking to her beloved stuffed lamb even as she experiences her first crush and wonders ‘what kind of woman she would be when she grew up.' The week's cheerlessness morphs into something complex and important."
Review Quote*"A stunning realistic fiction novel, Amelia's story is woven tightly with themes of friendship, grief, and love. In his signature classic style, Henkes perfectly captures the hope paramount to the youthful heart, while honoring difficult themes. . . [A] smooth, compact, emotionally nuanced novel with relatable characters."
Review Quote*"Amelia is a winning character: a dreamy, old soul who perfectly displays the naivety and the wisdom of growing up. Humor and lyrical language buoy the . . . narrative. Henkes's latest story is, like most life changes, quiet yet momentous."
Review Quote*"Henkes writes in still pools with occasional ripples, a clarity of approach that gives his writing immediacy along with precision. . .Readers will sympathize with [Amelia] as she negotiates some complicated human dynamics and comes out with more understanding."
Review Quote*"Henkes is the master of quiet yet potent observation, and this slender novel sensitively maps the heart of a girl on the cusp of ‘whatever was still to come.'"