A Good Kind of Trouble

Category: Book
By (author): Ramée, Lisa Moore
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 7-10
  JUVENILE FICTION / School & Education
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: June 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 384
Size: 7.62in x 5.12in
Our Price:
$ 9.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

Review Quote*"Shay's voice is so genuine -- she practically walks off the page. This is an important book, and an incredible debut."
Review Quote*"Full of heart and truth"
Review Quote*"Gripping from the opening line, A Good Kind of Trouble is a tender, insightful, and unique look at what it means to stand up for what you believe in and be brave. Shay is the type of heroine who inspires us all to take a stand."
Review Quote*"Ramée effectively portrays the importance of the Black Lives Matter movement and the difficulty of navigating complex social situations while conveying universal middle school questions about friendship, first crushes, and identity. Shay's journey is an authentic and engaging political and personal awakening."
Review Quote*"Shayla navigates the world of middle school and the troubled world beyond with wit and endless heart. A timely, funny, and unforgettable debut about friendship, facing your fears, and standing up for what's right."
Review Quote*"Reminiscent in writing style to works by Lauren Myracle and Jason Reynolds, this novel [shows] Shayla's typical middle school problems, then switches to the very specific problems she faces as a young black girl in America…[For] middle grade readers who aren't yet ready for Thomas's The Hate U Give."
Review Quote*"Shayla's narration is both sympathetic and acutely realistic... this is a sensitive exploration of contemporary racism and inequity for a readership not ready for Thomas' The Hate U Give."