Charming as a Verb

Category: Book
By (author): Philippe, Ben
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Humorous / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 2020
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 336
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 1.09in
Our Price:
$ 23.99
Availability:
In stock soon

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. 

Henri "Halti" Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.

There is only one person who seems immune to Henri's charms: his "intense" classmate and neighbor Corinne Troy. When she uncovers Henri's less-than-honest dog-walking scheme, she blackmails him into helping her change her image at school. Henri agrees, seeing a potential upside for himself.

Soon what started as a mutual hustle turns into something more surprising than either of them ever bargained for. . . .

This is a sharply funny and insightful novel about the countless hustles we have to keep from doing the hardest thing: being ourselves.

Review Quote*"Morris Award winner Phillippe turns up the charm in his sophomore novel…From its dynamic, easy-to-love characters to the endearing prose, this novel easily embodies Henri's cultivated suaveness, and his unusually confident persona, bring a fresh perspective."
Review Quote*"This humorous, first-person narrative with a conversational, almost conspiratorial, tone will captivate readers."
Review Quote*"Packed solid with freestyle wit, real bestie charm, and the everyday diverse glory of New York City."
Review Quote*Praise for FIELD GUIDE: "A witty debut with whip-smart dialogue that will find much love among fans of authors like John Green and Jason Reynolds."
Review Quote*Praise for FIELD GUIDE: "Ben Philippe's sparkling dialogue along with prose that occasionally borders on lyrical (although in a completely cool, hip, manly way) is sure to delight readers. Norris' evolution from cynical outsider to caring insider is a journey well-worth following-especially as it's accompanied with laugh out loud moments [and]insightful revelations."
Review Quote*Praise for FIELD GUIDE: "With a perfect balance of snark, keen observation, and wry humor, Ben Philippe has given us the brilliant Norris Kaplan-by far, the funniest, wittiest, smartest character I've ever read! Norris Kaplan would be the perfect teen host for The Daily Show!"
Review Quote*Praise for FIELD GUIDE: "A refreshing, captivating read, one which will definitely appeal to its teen target audience but will also satisfy older readers, who will appreciate its clarity and emotional acuity."
Review Quote*Praise for FIELD GUIDE: "In Philippe's funny debut, 16-year-old black French-Canadian Norris Kaplan must navigate life and love in Austin, Tex., after he and his mother move there... Philippe has a gift for dialogue and touches on a few instances of racism with sensitivity and humor in this crowd-pleaser."
Review Quote*Praise for FIELD GUIDE: "It's no longer tenable to imagine that the anxieties of a white heterosexual young man expelled from an expensive prep school capture the spirit of our era. Today's snarky young anti-hero instead looks like Norris, the black French Canadian boy in The Field Guide to the North American Teenager."