Lalani of the Distant Sea

Category: Book
By (author): Kelly, Erin Entrada
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14
  JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
Audience: children/juvenile
Awards: IndieBound Indie Next List
Bank Street Children’s Best Books of the Year
Junior Library Guild Selection
Amazon.com Best Books of the Month
New York Public Library’s Best Books for Kids
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: September 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 400
Size: 7.62in x 5.12in x 1.11in
Our Price:
$ 10.95
Availability:
In stock soon

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

"Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read."-Kirkus (starred review)

"A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder."-Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita's mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney's Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita's mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task-she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest-how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly's debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk's Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon. 

Review Quote*"A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder."
Review Quote*"With lyricism and elegance, Erin Entrada Kelly weaves a rich tale. Powerful and gripping."
Review Quote*"Unlikely but determined heroine Lalani is lovably loyal, kind-hearted, and optimistic even as she faces unspeakable dangers, and her relentless spirit makes her a worthy protagonist in this triumphant tale about fighting for the people one loves and staying true to oneself."
Review Quote*"Newbery Medalist Kelly writes a heroic fantasy about making choices, going on a quest, and conquering evil. Scattered throughout the novel are short, beautifully illustrated second-person vignettes allowing readers to imagine they are the mythical creatures Lalani encounters . . . Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read."
Review Quote*"Inspired by Filipino folklore, Newbery Award̶winner Kelly has woven her narrative with a mythology that is rich and delicious. . . . Readers will be cheering for Lalani in her unlikely quest to save her family and friends, using only the power of her wits, courage, and empathy."
Review Quote*"Beautifully rendered . . . A journey illustrating the importance of story and the power of faith and hope."
Review Quote*"Brimming with injustice, beauty, pain and wonder . . . A fluid, intentional novel grounded strongly in emotional reality and overflowing with the fantastic. Absolutely bewitching."
Review Quote*"Fans of Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon will be enthralled."
Review Quote*"Kelly turns from the contemporary realistic settings of the Newbery–winning Hello, Universe and of You Go First to a tropical island–set fantasy world. . . . An excellent job of world-building."