Phone Number
Phone Number

New Kid

Category: Book
By (author): Craft, Jerry
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: February 2019
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in x 0.57in
Our Price:
$ 15.99
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds-and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Review Quote*"Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year."
Review Quote*"Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!"
Review Quote*"An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America."
Review Quote*"This is more than a story about being the new kid-it's a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves."