Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

Category: Book
By (author): Ha, Robin
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT NONFICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Biography
  YOUNG ADULT NONFICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT NONFICTION / Social Topics / Emigration & Immigration
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: January 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 240
Size: 9.00in x 6.00in
Our Price:
$ 15.99
Availability:
Available: 28 Jan 2020

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life-perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation-following her mother's announcement that she's getting married-Robin is devastated.

Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to-her mother.

Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.  

Review Quote*"A poignant and unvarnished depiction of immigration-both the heartache and the rewards."
Review Quote*"This heartfelt memoir from an author who shares her honest, personal experiences … An insightful, moving coming-of-age tale." 
Review Quote*"A powerful memoir that not only shows what it's like to be in a new town or a new school, but what it's like to move to an entirely new country! It's an amazing journey that is sure to promote empathy with readers."
Review Quote*"Incredibly honest, poignant, and ultimately triumphant, Almost American Girl is a treasure."
Review Quote*"Robin's story is both utterly her own and deeply resonant for anyone who's felt lost in the world and fought to carve out a place for themselves."