Angel Mage

Category: Book
By (author): Nix, Garth
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: August 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 576
Size: 8.00in x 5.31in x 1.29in
Our Price:
$ 13.50
Availability:
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

A new fantasy masterpiece from Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Old Kingdom series.

More than a century has passed since Liliath crept into the empty sarcophagus of Saint Marguerite, fleeing the Fall of Ystara. But she emerges from her magical sleep still beautiful, looking no more than nineteen, and once again renews her single-minded quest to be united with her lover, Palleniel, the archangel of Ystara.

It's a seemingly impossible quest, but Liliath is one of the greatest practitioners of angelic magic to have ever lived, summoning angels and forcing them to do her bidding. Four young people hold her interest: Simeon, a studious doctor-in-training; Henri, a dedicated fortune hunter; Agnez, a glory-seeking musketeer; and Dorotea, icon-maker and scholar of angelic magic.

The four feel a strange kinship from the moment they meet but do not suspect their importance. And none of them know just how Liliath plans to use them, as mere pawns in her plan, no matter the cost to everyone else . . .

Fans of Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, and Leigh Bardugo will fall in love with Angel Mage, a feminist fantasy that takes place in an alternate European world ruled by fearsome magic and deadly passions.

* PW Best Books 2019 * Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year (2020) *

Review Quote*"A unique magical system based on angel summoning and icons, deft characterization-including male and female protagonists and LGBTQ representation-and an affectionate rendering of Dumas's style will delight teen and adult fans of swashbuckling romance."
Review Quote*"Nix's complex system of angelic magic, and the toll it takes, is fascinating, and he weaves an exciting adventure full of intrigue and action while portraying women in power in a refreshingly casual way. An original and gripping adventure."
Review Quote*"The vivid characters . . . jump off the pages. Their growing relationships steal the show. But there are plenty of embellishments that enhance the more personal aspects of the story. And kudos to fantasy stalwart Nix for a story with gender and racial equality."
Review Quote*"A character-driven fantasy that still stays true its adventure roots. [with] thoughtful, complex world building. Well-wrought differences in the character and voice of those teens . . . add nuance and depth to their racial diversity, while the novel as a whole recasts angels and familiar characters alike in ways that play on gendered expectations. Overall, this is a captivating and memorable tale that will please longstanding Nix fans and other lovers of intelligently written fantasy."
Review Quote*"With their complementary personalities and easy affection, the four friends are an endearing, sibling-like group; Liliath, "ferociously single-minded," makes a fascinating antagonist. . . . the pace picks up with plenty of court intrigue, beastling attacks, witty banter, and the posturing of rival military fac­tions. In addition to its fantastical elements, Nix's setting is characterized by wel­come gender equality, orientation inclusivity, and racial diversity."
Review Quote*Praise for Goldenhand: "A masterfully spun tale well worth the years long wait."
Review Quote*"Fans will cheer this latest volume- tightly paced with a satisfying resolution, capable and relatable female characters, plenty of action, and reappearances by beloved characters-and fervently hope for more to come."
Review Quote*"Nix has included strong female characters and a no-nonsense approach to sexuality. Recommended for high school libraries and for readers looking for fantasy with a historical literary flair."
Review Quote*"There is no joy like returning to the Old Kingdom. Once again, Nix sets the standard for fantasy, bringing us a tale full of old friends and new enemies, gruesome monsters, and heroines of wit, will, and imagination."