Where the Watermelons Grow

Category: Book
By (author): Baldwin, Cindy
Subject:  JUVENILE FICTION / Age 10-14
  JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  JUVENILE FICTION / Lifestyles / Farm & Ranch Life
  JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Depression & Mental Illness
Audience: children/juvenile
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: January 2020
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 272
Size: 7.62in x 5.12in x 0.54in
Our Price:
$ 9.99
Availability:
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin's debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother's mental illness. An Oregon Spirit Award Honor book.

When twelve-year-old Della Kelly finds her mother furiously digging black seeds from a watermelon in the middle of the night and talking to people who aren't there, Della worries that it's happening again-that the sickness that put her mama in the hospital four years ago is back. That her mama is going to be hospitalized for months like she was last time.

With her daddy struggling to save the farm and her mama in denial about what's happening, it's up to Della to heal her mama for good. And she knows just how she'll do it: with a jar of the Bee Lady's magic honey, which has mended the wounds and woes of Maryville, North Carolina, for generations.

But when the Bee Lady says that the solution might have less to do with fixing Mama's brain and more to do with healing her own heart, Della must learn that love means accepting her mama just as she is.

Review Quote*★ "Della's voice will tug at readers' heartstrings as she tries to hold her family together. Middle grade stories about mental illness, particularly those that focus on empathy and acceptance, are rare. This heartfelt story will stay with readers. A top choice."
Review Quote*★ "Baldwin has written a heartbreaking, yet heartening, story that explores mental illness and its effects on an entire family. Readers will connect with the novel's well-formed characters and be absorbed by the plot, which pulls no punches but doesn't overwhelm."
Review Quote*★ "Cindy Baldwin's graceful debut is an ode to family and community. Hints of sweet magical realism touch Where the Watermelons Grow, balancing this exquisite novel's bittersweet authenticity."
Review Quote*★ "In her debut novel, Baldwin presents a realistic portrayal of life with a mentally ill parent."
Review Quote*"[Della's] first-person narration is realistically earthy without crossing into gritty. This debut novel gushes with Southern charm. This story's as sweet as Della's daddy's watermelons but never saccharine."
Review Quote*"This has a tenderness that will appeal to fans of DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie."
Review Quote*"Della's story is a reminder that even under the toughest rinds of troubles we can find the cool, sustaining sweetness of friendship."
Review Quote*"Where the Watermelons Grow takes a close look at the unpredictable and debilitating nature of schizophrenia. Baldwin writes with a genuine voice."
Review Quote*"Where the Watermelons Grow is a spot-on, insightful novel about a preteen learning to live with and accept a parent's mental illness."