This Darkness Mine

Category: Book
By (author): Mcginnis, Mindy
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Depression
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: October 2017
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 384
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 1.21in
Our Price:
$ 24.50
Availability:
Available: 3-5 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Mindy McGinnis, award-winning author of The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet, returns with a new dark and twisted psychological thriller-perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Fight Club.

Sasha Stone knows her place-first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. She's worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved. But suddenly there's a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, and her skin misses his touch even though she's never known it. Why does he act like he knows her so well-too well-when she doesn't know him at all?

Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending the chapter of another: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesn't explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule, or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac. Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what she's willing to do-and who she's willing to hurt-to take it back.

Review Quote*"Rich imagery and a ruthless protagonist propel the novel forward to its shocking, ominous conclusion."
Review Quote*Praise for the FEMALE OF THE SPECIES: "McGinnis explores how one teen uses violence for justice in this gripping story that should be read and discussed by teens, as well as those who work with them."
Review Quote*"Each word has been specifically chosen, each character superbly and humanly sculpted, the plot line masterfully completed. To say more would be to dilute the experience. McGinnis plays with the readers and they are at her mercy."
Review Quote*"McGinnis gracefully avoids the pitfalls of creating a teenage vigilante, instead maintaining a sense of piercing realism. Alex is a pained girl in dangerous free fall, whose fierce independence is challenged by newfound friendships, even love, though neither may be enough to stave off the inevitable."
Review Quote*"All three teens are haunted by the memory of Anna's murder, and Alex's inclination to both considering and exacting revenge with cruel efficiency leads them all inexorably to an explosive, terrible finale. An unflinching look at rape culture and its repercussions."
Review Quote*"This is an astoundingly dark but beautifully written tragedy. Sexual abuse and assault are treated with sensitivity here but also portrayed with the necessary weight and power, and the dangerous repercussions of poor self-esteem, limiting social expectations, and secret-keeping are discussed openly and frankly."
Review Quote*"[I]t's raw. Not "raw for YA." Real-deal raw. And violent. And unforgettable. McGinnis explores both and she goes there in a way no one really has before in YA. This is Kill Bill in high school, but with more nuance, bolder choices and a true female perspective."
Review Quote*"Your heart may still be pounding after you've finished this book. It is uncannily well timed to our current political situation...McGinnis, who dedicates her book to ‘the victims,' examines this dichotomy of hope and violence, love and hate, with dexterity and grace."
Review Quote*"The ending of this dark novel leaves much to be unpacked, and it would certainly spark heated discussion in a book club or classroom."