Ramona Blue

Category: Book
By (author): Murphy, Julie
Subject:  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
  YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
Audience: young adult
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: May 2017
Format: Book-hardcover
Pages: 432
Size: 8.25in x 5.50in x 1.30in
Our Price:
$ 24.50
Availability:
Available: 3-5 days

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

From Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin' and Side Effects May Vary, comes another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it's been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she's fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she's destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona's friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he's talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke. Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Review Quote*"Julie Murphy knows a thing or two about navigating the worlds of girls on the brink of self-discovery."
Review Quote*"Julie Murphy delivers a fresh and glorious love story that addresses all the complexities of one's heart. Ramona Blue's discovery of limitless love is total beauty."
Review Quote*"RAMONA BLUE is Julie Murphy's best book yet. It's hilarious, it's heartfelt, and it's so, so real. I just wish I'd had this book to read during my own teen years!"
Review Quote*Praise for DUMPLIN': "Will's singular voice compels readers to think about all that goes into building-and destroying-self-esteem...Splendid"
Review Quote*Praise for DUMPLIN': "Murphy...successfully makes every piece of the story-Dolly Parton superfans, first love, best-friend problems, an unlikely group of pageant entrants, female solidarity, self-acceptance, and Willowdean's complicated relationship with the mother...-count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole."
Review Quote*Praise for DUMPLIN': "I'm obsessed with this book. Wickedly funny, heartbreakingly real, full of characters to love and cheer for. DUMPLIN' is such a star."
Review Quote*Praise for DUMPLIN': "DUMPLIN' should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. Julie Murphy's star continues to shine with this groundbreaking, poignant story that will surely change lives."
Review Quote*Praise for DUMPLIN': "[A] richly enjoyable novel...a clever and funny book to please lovers of thoughtful romance and secret pageant fans."
Review Quote*Praise for DUMPLIN': "Genuine, romantic, and with a dash of Texan charm, this is a novel that celebrates being who you are while also acknowledging that it's incredibly difficult to do."