The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation

Category: Book
By (author): Solzhenitsyn, Aleksandr I.
Series: Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956
Subject:  HISTORY / Europe / Russia & the Former Soviet Union
  HISTORY / General
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: August 2007
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 608
Size: 8.00in x 5.31in x 0.97in
Our Price:
$ 26.99
In stock

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Volume 3 of the gripping epic masterpiece, Solzhenitsyn's moving account of resistance within the Soviet labor camps and his own release after eight years

Review Quote*"Best Nonfiction Book of the Twentieth Century"
Biographical Note

After serving as a decorated captain in the Soviet Army during World War II, Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn (1918-2008) was sentenced to prison for eight years for criticizing Stalin and the Soviet government in private letters. Solzhenitsyn vaulted from unknown schoolteacher to internationally famous writer in 1962 with the publication of his novella One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich; he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1968. The writer's increasingly vocal opposition to the regime resulted in another arrest, a charge of treason, and expulsion from the USSR in 1974, the year The Gulag Archipelago, his epic history of the Soviet prison system, first appeared in the West. For eighteen years, he and his family lived in Vermont. In 1994 he returned to Russia. Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn died at his home in Moscow in 2008.