Shaman's Crossing

Category: Book
By (author): Hobb, Robin
Series: Soldier Son Trilogy
Subject:  FICTION / Fantasy / General
Audience: general/trade
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: August 2006
Format: Book-paperback
Pages: 624
Size: 6.75in x 4.18in x 1.24in
List Price:
$ 11.99
Our Price:
$ 9.99
(17% Off)
Available to order

Additional Notes

From The Publisher*

Nevare Burvelle was destined from birth to be a soldier. The second son of a newly anointed nobleman, he must endure the rigors of military training at the elite King's Cavella Academy-and survive the hatred, cruelty, and derision of his aristocratic classmates-before joining the King of Gernia's brutal campaign of territorial expansion. The life chosen for him will be fraught with hardship, for he must ultimately face a forest-dwelling folk who will not submit easily to a king's tyranny. And they possess an ancient magic their would-be conquerors have long discounted-a powerful sorcery that threatens to claim Nevare Burvelle's soul and devastate his world once the Dark Evening brings the carnival to Old Thares.

Review Quote*"Enthralling."
Review Quote*"Displaying Hobb's gift for creating unusual and compelling worlds, [SHAMAN'S CROSSING] maintains her high standard of storytelling."
Review Quote*"Hobb works with a rich palette of fantasy ideas."
Review Quote*"In a word: fascinating."
Biographical Note

Robin Hobb was born in California but grew up in Alaska, where she learned to love the forest and the wilderness. She has lived most of her life in the Pacific Northwest and currently resides in Tacoma, Washington. She is the author of the Rain Wilds Chronicles, the Farseer Trilogy, the Liveship Traders Trilogy, and the Tawny Man Trilogy. Her books under the pseudonym Megan Lindholm include Wizard of the Pigeons, The Windsingers, and Cloven Hooves. She is also the author of The Inheritance, a collection of stories written under both names. Her short fiction has won the Asimov's Readers' Award and been a finalist for both the Nebula and Hugo awards.